Kitty Pryde, Jean Grey, and All-New Heartbreak

I’ve been enjoying Brian Michael Bendis’ All New X-Men for a while now. I like the premise; I think the characters and dialogue are excellent. I’ve especially enjoyed the relationship between Jean Grey and Kitty Pryde, who has taken the old/new X-Men under her wing. It works so well because Kitty used to be the “little sister” of the team and Jean was the mega-powerful mutant authority figure. Now Kitty is the experienced one and she’s doing all she can to help a teenaged Jean come to grips with her Phoenix future/past.

That’s all been great, but lately the series has taken a turn for the worse. Mostly, I’m a little cheesed off about the “Trial of Jean Grey” story that’s part of the All New Marvel Now Reboot. The arc is a cross-over with Guardians of the Galaxy. It’s a six-issue arc, which means if I want to read it I’ve gotta buy THREE ISSUES of Guardians of the Galaxy. What!? Sorry, no.

I get that Marvel is trying to push GotG in advance of the movie. But three issues? C’mon. To make matters worse, this cross-over is coming on the heels of this fall’s 10-part “Battle of the Atom” cross-over. I didn’t mind “Battle of the Atom” so much because I was already buying three X-books, which is probably normal practice for your average X-Fan. So “Battle of the Atom” meant I was buying about four extra books over the course of two months. The story was decent, so no big deal.

But now, after three mediocre stand alone issues with sub-par art you’re going to try to get me on the hook for another cross-over event? One which requires some pretty silly storytelling in the setup.

Also, you’ve absolutely ruined the team’s costumes. Painfully generic multi-coloured costumes? Are you kidding me? These might be the worst costumes in comics? How does more than one person think this is a good idea?

allnew_3

Hey, maybe you can fix them by giving all the team members spiffy helmets. Kind of like…

voltran-7-bolum-izle

Yes! Exactly. Heroic. Not at all juvenile.

Long story short this may be enough to drive me away from a series I’ve loved over the past year. It’s a shame and a real miscalculation on the part of the X-Editors and Bendis.

One thought on “Kitty Pryde, Jean Grey, and All-New Heartbreak

  1. Pingback: What’s Wrong With Reboots? | Copper and Chrome

Leave a Reply

